Be Fit For Life

with Ellen Cohen-Kaplan

A New Year and a fresh start!

Leave a comment

Happy new year to those of you celebrating. Even if you don’t celebrate Rosh Hashanah, September seems to be a great time to reflect on how you’re living your life. Something about warm weather getting cooler, and summer being over always has me thinking about how I’ll do something: 1. better 2. differently  3. less stressfully 4. more productively.

Today is the perfect day for me to do that since I turn 53 today (or should I say 47, since I decided once I turned 50, that I would begin reversing the years). At some point, my kids will need to worry about where I am late at night, when I enter adolescence (in about 30 years), but since I’ll really be 83, that probably won’t happen! 

In truth, birthdays don’t really have me feeling any past regrets or shoulda, woulda, coulda(s), or if only I had done this, then I would have been in a happier, better place. I truly am in a happy, great place right now!

I’m so thankful for all the blessings in my life, – rewarding and fun work, close relationships,  great family, friends, neighborhood, and community. Some health challenges for both Jeff and I along the way have motivated us to take great trips a few times a year. When people ask us  “Why or how do you take so many trips?”, the answer surprises them (not the American Express points paying for the airfare and hotel part), but the fact that if Jeff hadn’t had a couple of heart attacks, and I hadn’t had my share of health issues, we probably wouldn’t go on vacation 5 weeks a year. 

So, try to live with no regrets, live each week, or at least each month with plenty of fun things to break up all the work and responsibility part, and regularly count all the blessings you likely have in the form of your friends, family, mental and physical health. 

Tell your loved ones on a regular basis how much you appreciate and love them, and take a few moments each day to be thankful for all the good things in your life. 

We have a special birthday ritual in our family that is truly the best gift any birthday celebrant could receive. The 5  of us go out to dinner together and each person tells the birthday boy/girl all the things we love about that person. We usually include anecdotes like, I remember the time you spontaneously did yada yada yada, or when you showed you cared by…….At the end of the this time of wonderful things you hear about yourself, you magically drop all your insecurities about being a good enough parent or partner and just wallow in feeling good that your family loves and appreciates you, and notices the nice things you do.  You realize that whatever you’re doing, isn’t only good enough, but recognized and appreciated by loved ones. 

So happy new year to all, and live your best life starting right now! 

Check out my post next week for some great tips on some of the ways I’m doing the 1-4 in the first paragraph. Enjoy the great fall weather, everyone!

 

Leave a Reply

