Be Fit For Life

with Ellen Cohen-Kaplan

What a week this was! Ways to boost your immune system.

Leave a comment

Man and woman plan, God laughs. This post may be a bit more introspective than previous ones. 

in the excitement and training that leads up to the PMC, I had noticed a small lump in my neck, for the last 2 months. What started out as a raisin sized bump morphed into one the size of a golf ball. What started out as a followup to an appointment after a ct scan turned into a very unexpected hospital stay with IV antibiotics. The whole time I was thinking about my PMC ride, and drove my erstwhile otolaryngologist and infectious disease docs nearly to madness as I obsessed about being able to ride the PMC. So, here I am, absolutely ecstatic to be home from the Beth Israel hospital, without having had any surgery (yet, time will tell if I’ll need it). I”m happy to say that I have NO real restrictions on activity, and I still plan to ride the PMC. I lost only 3 days of training, because I actually rode 22 miles the morning I was admitted, and I took a nice easy 15 mile ride today.
My main task this week is strengthening my immune system. I found some great websites detailing the best immune system boosters. Go to this website to find out more. title=”immune system boosters” target=”_blank”>http://articles.mercola.com/sites/articles/archive/2009/12/08/top-12-foods-for-healthy-immune-response.aspx
The ones that I use regularly within this website are the a lot of different local, organic vegetables and spices mentioned, especially turmeric, garlic, oregano, cinnamon, and black pepper. I also eat a lot of organic greek yogurt, and some grass-fed beef. I wish I liked more fermented foods like pickles, sauerkraut, and olives, but I don’t- if you do, eat plenty of it- its very good for you! Coconut oil and coconut is also very rich in antioxidants, and currently is all the rage for replenishing reserves after intense exercise, or just if you need a boost of energy. You may want to try kefir, which is a common food to eat in the middle east that’s very rich in probiotics, like organic yogurt, and now available in grocery stores here, especially Whole Foods and Trader Joe’s.

Another website that I found that has foods that are accessible to all of us was by the organic gardener:
9 foods to boost your immune system” target=”_blank”>http://www.organicgardening.com/living/9-foods-boost-immune-system.
The foods listed here are found in many a pantry, and include any types of mushrooms, although some are better than others, sweet potatoes, chicken soup, black and green tea, oats and barley (make those steel cut oats, which has a much better glycemic index than rolled or “quick” oats) and fish, especially those with the omega-3 acids.

So that’s my project for this week. If any of you would like to share some good, infection-fighting, immune boosting recipes with me, feel free to respond to this post! Also, this is the last post before I ride the PMC (if all goes well this week). I’m only $230 away from my goal, so this is an excellent time to go to this page and donate whatever you can – pmc.org/EC0086/donate. Thanks so much to those of you who have already supported me, and those of you who plan to do so!  Wish me luck next weekend!

Leave a Reply

